Visit The FilmMakers Message Board

Film Festivals

Action/Cut Seminars
American Gem Short Script Contest
Action Cut Home Study VHS/DVD


Call For Entries

By Olivia Trolloppe
Mar 14, 2007, 05:41

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
The British Short Screenplay Competition (BSSC) is now accepting submissions for their sixth annual competition and it will be the biggest and the best. This year for the first time the BSSC will not produce one winning screenplay but THREE winners will go into production. No other screenwriting competition in the world offers a bigger prize package to one winner let alone three!

The BSSC is often asked what is the budget of the production? Well what we can tell you is that the average budget of the last three films we produced inclusive of all the sponsorship packages was $340,000. This is the biggest prize fund package offered by any screenplay competition in the World. And now we're going to produce THREE! It makes the BSSC not only “the best and the most prestigious” but the best, most prestigious and biggest screenplay competition in the world. AND Movie Magic screenwriting software for TEN runners-up AND all the finalists will be invited to an interview with the panel of the NFTS writing school bypassing preliminary rounds.

The BSSC is the only competitive and international short screenplay competition that undertakes to produce the winning screenplay and is able to boast an unrivalled line-up of judges that includes: Kenneth Branagh, Charles Dance; Directors: Sir Alan Parker, Mehdi Norrowzian and Simon Rumley; producers: Michael Kuhn, Piers Jackson, Nik Powell, Leslee Udwin, Natascha Wharton and Stephen Woolley to name but a few. "I have been involved with this competition from the beginning and I'm very proud of what it is trying to achieve and I'm hugely impressed with the quality of screenplays coming in." Nik Powell. "Every writer's dream is to have their screenplay produced. Our aim is to fulfil that dream" - says producer Arif Hussein.

"The Handyman" winner of the BSSC and produced by Kaos Films is making it's mark around the world. The Film won the Best Film honour at the 50th Sitges International Film Festival, it was selected as best of the festival at Rhode Island International Film Festival and listed as "highly commended" at the TCM Shorts in London.

"The Handyman" is currently being screened in competition at the Fantasporto - Oporto International Film Festival, Portugal. The Film has also been invited in competition at 25th Brussels International Festival and at Young Film Makers Festival Granada, Spain and Puchon International Fantastic Film Festival (PiFan), Korea.

The British Short Screenplay Competition is now receiving entries for the 2007 competition. The early deadline for entries is Friday 27th April 2007 and the final closing deadline is Friday 22nd June 2007. The BSSC is sponsored by: Kodak, Lee Lighting, Panavision, Pinewood-Shepperton Studios and Screenplay Systems. For rules and entry forms check

Top of Page

Copyright © 1999-2011 by  All rights reserved. is a division of Media Pro Tech Inc.

top of page

| Home Page | Contests | Indies | Features | News | Resource Links | Advertise With Us |

Important disclaimer

Copyright © 1999-2011 by  All rights reserved. is a division of Media Pro Tech Inc.

Latest Headlines
WriteSafe Announces Contest Finalists
Academy's Nicholl Screenwriting Competition Now Underway
Cowrite Announces Week 5 Winner
Candadian Short Screenplay Competition Announces Top 25
WriteSafe Announces 4th Quarter Semifinalists
ASA Announce Quarterfinalists
Skynet Research is a leader in the research and development of robotic technology, dedicated to helping the human race achieve great goals. And they want your help!
Script Savvy Announces January 2009 Contest Winners
All Access Competition Announces Semifinalists
Big Bear Lake Announces 2008 Contest Results
Kairos Prize Announces Competition Winners
American Screenwriting Competition Announces Semifinalists
FINAL DRAFT's Big Break Int'l Screenwriting Contest Open for Entries
The 3rd Annual Imagination Theatre Radio Script Competition, 2008