Festival Announces Third Edition of SXSWclick and Jury of Notables
Jun 7, 2006, 08:04

Austin, TX -- South by Southwest (SXSW) Conferences and
Festivals is happy to announce the third edition of its new-media festival, entitled "SXSWclick." SXSWclick is a year-round initiative created by the festival to showcase short-form storytelling via the Internet and mobile

"When we started this new-media fest three years ago, it was a very rare concept," says SXSW Film Festival Producer Matt Dentler. "Now, we live in an age of video iPods and mobile phones playing shorts. It's a great time for SXSWclick, and for artists to use it as an avenue of discovery."

Film and video-makers are urged to submit their work for consideration, via the official Web site: . The deadline for submissions is June 12th. The festival's lineup will be available for download on the
official site, by June 30th. An esteemed jury will then select winners in each of five categories: "Old School Shorts," "Really Real Shorts," "Animate-It," "Sound Checks," and "What the Film?" In addition, there will
be an audience award to encompass all categories, and viewers will be able to vote online. Films will be available either as Quicktime files for computers or MPEG files, for portable devices.

The SXSWclick jury will include: Margaret Brown(director, "Be Here to Love Me: A Film About Townes Van Zandt"), Kirby Dick (director, "This Film Is Not Yet Rated"), Danny Leiner (director, "Harold and Kumar Go To White Castle"), Karina Longworth (Editor Emeritus,, Jason Reitman (director, "Thank You For Smoking"), Deborah Scranton (director, "The War Tapes"), Morgan Spurlock (director, "Super Size Me"), Laura Swisher (comedian) and more.

Winners for jury and audience awards will be announced on July 28th. Along with an assortment of prizes, the winners are automatically selected to screen at the next SXSW Film Festival, March 9-18, 2007 in Austin, TX.

© Copyright 2003 by