2007 Samuel Goldwyn Award Winners Announced
By Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards
Nov 2, 2007, 09:22

Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Competition For Theater, Film & Televisison

Los Angeles, CA -- UCLA's Jennifer O'Kieffe has been named the winner of the 52nd annual Samuel Goldwyn writing awards for her script "Sex and Sylvia Plath."

The announcement was made on Monday at the UCLA's Westwood campus by Samuel Goldwyn Jr., president of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation.

The winner was awarded $15,000, "Sex and Sylvia Plath." is about a death-obsessed 16-year-old girl who loses her virginity to a teenage boy, only to discover that her mother is also having an affair with him.

Second place won $7500, went to UCLA's Michael Vukadinovich for "Buckbee," about a precocious 11-year-old who models his junior high political career after President George W. Bush while dealing with his mother's death and his eccentrically liberal father.

UCLA's Mark C. Humphrey won $2,000 for third place script, "Coup," in which a struggling TV network greenlights a new reality series in which contestants take part in a coup d'etat in a small country.

First honorable mention won $1,000 went to "Zen Dog in the Clouds," by Kevin P. Cramer of UC Riverside, about a young soldier on leave from Iraq stumbles into a drug deal gone wrong in the mountains of Montana. Second honorable mention was also awarded $1000, to UCLA's Andrea McCloud for "Room for Error," in which an uptight accountant and her fun-loving mother are reunited after years of estrangement.

Judges were Variety editor-in-chief Peter Bart, producer Cathy Schulman and director-writer-producer Joel Schumacher. Previous winners include Allison Anders, Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray, Colin Higgins, Eric Roth and Jonathan Kellerman.

The awards were founded by Samuel Goldwyn Sr. in 1955 to encourage young writers.

Contest info: Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

© Copyright 2003 by