SEABISCUIT, CARNIVALE and HITLER Win American Society of Cinematographers Awards
By American Society of Cinematographers
Feb 10, 2004, 19:40

LOS ANGELES, California -- John Schwartzman rode SEABISCUIT to victory in the feature film competition at the 18th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards gala tonight at the Century Plaza Hotel. The award was presented to Schwartzman by writer- producer-director Jim Sheridan, who is Oscar(R)-nominated for his screenplay In America. It was the first victory for Schwartzman in the ASC competition. He was nominated for Pearl Harbor in 2002.

"I suspect this is what the founders of ASC had in mind 85 years ago when they envisioned a quest for artistic excellence in visual storytelling," Sheridan said. "Each of the nominated films was a singular artistic triumph."

The other nominees in the feature film competition were Russell Boyd for MASTER AND COMMANDER: THE FAR SIDE OF THE WORLD, Andrew Lesnie for THE LORD OF THE RINGS: RETURN OF THE KING, John Seale for COLD MOUNTAIN, and John Toll for THE LAST SAMURAI.

Tami Reiker, Jeff Jur and Pierre Gill claimed Outstanding Achievement Awards in the television competitions. Reiker won the cable award for the CARNIVALE pilot, which aired on Home Box Office. Jur took top honors for "Pick a Number," an episode of CARNIVALE. Gill won the competition for best telefilm on a network channel for HITLER: THE RISE OF EVIL, which aired on CBS. Carla Gugino, James Caan, and Kiefer Sutherland presented the awards, respectively.

It was Reiker's first nomination. It was the second ASC Outstanding Achievement Award for Jur, who won last year for the telefilm LAST CALL. Gill was nominated for the telefilm JOAN OF ARC in 2000.

This was the first time in the history of the ASC Awards that a single program took top honors in both the television movie/miniseries/pilot and episodic categories.

Michael Chapman received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Chapman was honored for his body of work, including such classics as RAGING BULL, THE FUGITIVE, TAXI DRIVER and INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS. His upcoming releases include EULOGY, SUSPECT ZERO and HOUSE OF D. The award was presented by David Duchovny, who lauded the cinematographer for his artful visual storytelling, and also predicted that "someday we'll be back for part two of the Michael Chapman Lifetime Achievement Award."

Miroslav Ondricek claimed the International Achievement Award for his extraordinary body of work, which includes AMADEUS, RAGTIME, HAIR, SILKWOOD and SLAUGHTER-HOUSE FIVE. He received the award from actress-director Penny Marshall, who collaborated with Ondricek on A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN, THE PREACHER'S WIFE and RIDING IN CARS WITH BOYS.

Irwin Winkler received the ASC Board of Governors Award. Winkler has produced and directed films that have earned 12 Oscars in major categories and 33 other nominations, including ROCKY, RAGING BULL, THE RIGHT STUFF and GOODFELLAS. Presenter Kevin Kline observed, "I am told on good authority that the surest way to put a big smile on a cinematographer's face is to tell him or her that Irwin Winkler is on the phone."

Howard Anderson Jr. received the organization's Presidents Award. Anderson is a visual effects pioneer who has earned several Oscar nominations, but is best known for his work on the I LOVE LUCY and STAR TREK series.

Film historian and documentarian Kevin Brownlow received a special award of recognition for his contributions to preserving the silent film era. Brownlow has authored books and produced documentaries about the silent movie era, in addition to finding, restoring and preserving irreplaceable films.

The ASC was founded in January 1919. The ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards were inaugurated in 1987. There are currently some 270 members from many countries around the world. Visit the ASC website at

(Oscar is a registered trademark of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.)

© Copyright 2003 by